top of page
Search
  • Sarah Coffey

The Book That Defines Me


In the past almost-ten years, I have read numerous books and loved just as many of them. However, certain books have touched me more than others. For some people it is one book alone that does this, but for me it is a few different series by the same author-Cassandra Clare's Shadowhunter Series. I first fell in love with this author when I read the first half of The Mortal Instruments series my sophomore year of high school. Ever since, I have anxiously waited for the newest book to come out in the store. I was even more excited when I learned that there was a prequel series (The Infernal Devices) and quickly read the first two and then the third once it was released. Just this year, the first book in the sequel series (The Dark Artifices) was released and I had it pre-ordered months beforehand.

All of the books in the these series have touched me more than any of my other favorite books have. These books have the fantasy genre in every page of the story, but going along are the normal everyday problems that teenagers deal with. There are different relationships of many forms (siblings, lovers, friends, parents/children) and are all unique. The characters, which there are dozens, are incomparable to each other because Clare has made each one so diverse with thorough backstories and characteristics. Not only are they unique to themselves and their individual series, but Clare incorporates the characters into the other series, bringing the story full circle and together as a whole. Many of the characters are from different cultural backgrounds as well, which adds to the diversity of the characters and their relationships.

In the newest book and first of the sequel series, Clare goes even further to comment (not out-right) on the 'mundane' conditions of ADHD, dyslexia, and others because a newer character is different from what the characters' society deems normal, which would have them persecuted and deemed unworthy.

So many things have been incorporated into these books that it seems like nothing could be added to them. These books have influenced me so much because they are so diverse and detailed that it is almost effortless to fall into the story and feel like the characters are standing next to you.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page