top of page
Search
  • Amber Harris

Guest Post: Finding Inspiration in Writing

Updated: Feb 16, 2022

How to Find Inspiration in Writing?

For any fiction writer, one of the most important and incredible aspects of creative writing is the opportunity to create entire worlds and universes. As the most intelligent species on earth, humans have the unique ability to–through writing–bring other worlds and universes into existence. Furthermore, through the power of writing and storytelling, a writer is capable of creating individuals that do not exist in our reality.

Although these elements of creative writing are certainly wonderful and thrilling, they also present writers with a daunting challenge: constantly searching for inspiration. Without inspiration, creative writing cannot occur, and so finding inspiration is of utmost importance. As a result, writers must ask themselves this question: where can I find inspiration?

As a creative writer, I have often been confronted with this question. Oftentimes, I have struggled to find inspiration for my current and future writing projects, and I have felt as if there is no inspiration around me. Fortunately, to combat this difficulty, I have developed three methods of finding inspiration for writing.

The first of these methods of finding inspiration involves looking at what has happened, is happening, or will happen in the world. Being a history enthusiast, I am fascinated by historical events, and thus I am often inspired to create works of historical fiction. For instance, one of my future projects is a historical fiction series called Ivernia. Set in ancient Ireland, Ivernia will be based on Irish history, and it is inspired by my reading and researching of the pre-Christian history of Ireland. Thus, through my fascination with history, I am capable of being continuously inspired to develop works that incorporate elements of actual history, in a way that engages my readers.

In addition to using history as my inspiration, I also use current and future events to inspire me to create drama, science fiction, slice of life, and coming-of-age stories. As a case in point, my short story and novel series Evergreen Manor is a drama and coming-of-age narrative inspired by the tumultuousness of current American politics. On the other hand, my science fiction novel series Celestia will be inspired by both current and future discoveries in astronomy, physics, astrobiology, engineering, and technology. In a world and universe that is as amazing as this one, opportunities to develop stories based on past, present, and future events are presented to writers each day. Therefore, by being attentive to all periods of time, one can be endlessly inspired to write creatively.

The second method of inspiration that I utilize is looking at aspects of my own life. Throughout history, numerous writers have found inspiration via reflecting on or examining their lives, and I am no exception. Being a person who often reflects on his life, as well as someone who possesses a photographic memory, I tend to base some of my works on events that have happened in my life. One of my projects that exemplifies this is my novel and short story series Fairview. Loosely based on my life experiences, Fairview will be semi-autobiographical, in that it will feature characters based on people I know and have met.

Moreover, like any semi-autobiographical work of fiction, Fairview will depict some events that I have personally witnessed and experienced. Life is a fascinating sequence of events, and it is filled with people and experiences that can inspire countless works of fiction. Thus, a simple and effective method of finding inspiration for one’s writing is reflecting on and paying attention to his or her own life.

Lastly, the third and final method that I use to find inspiration is finding inspiration in the books I read and have read. Being a fan of science fiction, folklore, mythology, fantasy, historical fiction, drama, and adventure novels and stories, I frequently look to my favorite genres for inspiration. For example, one of my upcoming projects is Jangal, a novel and short story series inspired by every fantasy novel and book series I have read–namely The Chronicles of Narnia, The Lord of the Rings, and Magic Tree House.

Finding inspiration in the works of other writers is an excellent method of finding inspiration, for it allows aspiring writers to determine which genres inspire and intrigue them the most. By doing so, a writer is compelled to create their own contributions to a particular genre, and be inspired to specialize in various genres. Hence, finding inspiration in the books one reads and has read is a helpful method of finding inspiration for his or her writing.

To conclude, the three methods I have presented can be used to quickly and efficiently find inspiration for creative writing. Whether through looking at history, or even one’s life, writers are capable of being inspired by a variety of aspects of their reality. Even though creative writing is difficult, one should remember that everything and everyone in existence is a potential inspiration for fictional works, and that both the world and the universe are places of endless inspiration.

~Jacob Dial





13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page