top of page
Search
  • Amber Harris

Guest Post: Finding balance as a writer and student

For me, it is hard to balance between being a writer and a student, and it may be because I am an overthinker and I procrastinate a lot, but with great determination and strive to succeed as both a writer and student, it can be balanced well. As of now, I am an author of seven novels, six novellas, and one short story. Of my works, only a few are finished, and it is mostly because I prioritize my classes over everything else, which led me to wonder when I could find time for one of my greatest passions. I often found myself writing excerpts from my book chapters and reading novels to see what I could change and improve, but I could never bring myself to pick up where I had left off. During my first year, I spoke with Joe Taylor, who is a professor in the department of languages and literature, and he suggested that I attempt to write one chapter a day. I thought that was an amazing idea because I could do homework, and write afterward, it would be a perfect balance. Did I immediately do it? No. In fact, just over this past weekend, I finally took Dr. Taylor’s advice, and I wrote a chapter. It felt amazing. To know that I still have that passion, fire, and love for writing that I can pick up at any time is important to me. Do we have writers-block? Yes. Do we have bad days? Yes. Do we sometimes feel overwhelmed? Yes, but in the end what matters is that you don’t give up on your passions. You continue to strive hard and work even harder to improve your craft and balance the important things you’d like to be consistent in your life.


-Trinity Crenshaw




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page