top of page
Search
  • Shelby Parrish

Is it writing season yet?


I recently realized something about myself. In the past, I thought my inspiration for writing came from several things: music, family, friends, strangers, movies, TV shows, etc. But, it has come to my attention that my inspiration comes primarily from one aspect: weather.

Rain

Doesn't the rain make everyone sad? It's a time of reflection on past mistakes, current stress, or future events. It's also great "sleeping weather." However, for me, I don't think of love scenes or sad songs. I imagine a warrior being drenched as she stands before a life-long foe. I sometimes add swords, but mostly they engage in hand-to-hand combat. They tussle, they brawl, they block, they step back, they engage again. Eventually, the warrior arises victorious, and I mentally cheer her on.

Fog

This weather type is one of my favorites. I'm a sucker for scary movies, so fog sends my mind into a spin. I typically imagine a car driving down a country road as the fog grows thicker. The driver is alone in the car, of course, and completely unsuspecting. He drops his coffee into the passenger floor and reaches out. Just as he focuses back to the pavement before him, a figure appears. He stomps on the breaks and swerves onto the shoulder. Now shaken, he gets out of the car and waddles toward the figure in the road. It's a small child in a white, lace dress, covered in blood. As his mind tries to understand, he stares at her. She then opens her mouth...and begins to scream.

Windy

It's actually windy today, so this account is the most recent. I imagine a girl, in college, reminiscing on her relationship status. Surprise! She's single. She thinks that she is just unappealing, but taking a look at her female classmates, maybe she's not appealing enough. It's the first week of her second semester and she has Biology lab bright and early. She watches new faces walk in, filling the seats around her but never beside her. Then he walks in. He's beautiful, and he pulls up a chair...directly beside her. The wind doesn't seem to have much of an appearance in that tale, but it inspires me nonetheless.


1 view0 comments
bottom of page